Doug's Blog

Home » Camping » The leveling blocks

The leveling blocks

August 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 787 other followers

I finally got to building new leveling blocks for the motorhome. I opted for low-tech, and built them from lumber.

I used three levels, rather than the four I was originally considering, each 6 inches longer than the other. I also used preserved wood, although it’s a bit more than is needed since my blocks tend to break long before they rot.

level2

I went with three levels each, since the highest number of blocks I’ve needed was three. Also, if I was to need more, I could place a single block under the new ones.

Also, to keep me from rolling off unnecessarily, I added the 6″ pieces I was going to use as the top level on the end as a stop. You should feel hitting these if you go too far.

So, with the cut ends treated, here is the finished product. Next week, I get to find out how well the work…

level1

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Luigi Zanasi says:

    Rather than permanently screwing mine together, I drilled holes for 2-3″ carriage bolts in each one, which I can easily install or remove. So I can raise each wheel on my pick-up from 1-1/2 to 4-1/2 inches using one, two or three planks under each wheel, with none under the highest spot. Come take a look.

Leave a Reply

