Doug's Blog

Home » General » Four weeks in

Four weeks in

February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 787 other followers

Time seems to move on and my latest progress report is probably due. It’s been 4 weeks since my surgery and things seem to be moving along nicely.

I still have plenty of pain and if someone knows a comfortable position that allows you to sleep for more than 30 minutes at a time, I’ll take it. Physio is where they send evil souls to repent for lives badly lived (twice a week with with equally hellish exercises twice daily.) I am thoroughly skilled at doing math based on 4 hours (T1s) and 6 hours (ibuprofen) simultaneously and knowing to the minute when the next increment comes due.

There are good sides to this, however. Although one of my physiotherapists seems to think I’m making no headway, I have greater range of motion in my knee than I did prior to surgery. I can almost make a full rotation on the bike pedals, something I have not been able to do for almost 10 years. I have more than 90° of bend in my knee, which I did not have prior to surgery. This is in spite of the surgeon pointing out that one usually does not have the bending range in a replacement joint that one did have prior to surgery.

I have graduated to a cane indoors, although with the snow and ice, I tend to use my crutches outdoors. I can go longer periods of time without elevating my knee. I still avoid frequently using the stairs and sleep downstairs on the sofa bed. I was a little worried about the lack of height it had so we bought a memory foam mattress to put on top of the existing one. This is quite comfortable and I suspect the one currently in the motor home, which is the same size, is destined to spend this summer in the basement while we camp.

The really interesting reaction to my surgery, though, comes from the cats. When my leg starts to really hurt, both cats are there. Darcy snuggles, while Furball has to snuggle right up to my incision. If you need feline companionship in my house, all you have to do is wince.

If you’re wondering whether or not I recommend this, I will throw in the fact that I don’t know anyone who’s had a knee replaced and didn’t like the final result. I’m looking forward to the finished product six months or so down the road, considerably more than how I got to that point. I will tell you this much about the process. This is certainly one example where it’s not the journey. It’s the destination…

Leave a Reply

