Doug's Blog

Home » General » How far does coincidence go?

How far does coincidence go?

July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 787 other followers

The subject is a question I’ve asked myself on several occasions. How far does coincidence go?

One of the many tragic stories arising from last night’s shooting in Aurora, CO, is that of Jessica Redfield, a sports blogger living in Colorado. She had blogged last month of her premonition that made her leave the Eaton Centre in Toronto several minutes before the shootings there.

I wish I could shake this odd feeling from my chest. The feeling that’s reminding me how blessed I am. The same feeling that made me leave the Eaton Center. The feeling that may have potentially saved my life.

She didn’t know what made her get up and leave but would have been in the line of fire when the shootings happened. Jessica Redfield is one of the confirmed dead from last night’s tragedy.

My tie to this is that I was in Toronto on the day of the Eaton Centre shootings, stuck on a 20 hour layover. I was hoping to see a few people while there, but didn’t get a chance due to timing. When that wouldn’t work out, I decided that I was going downtown for a few hours. Where? Of, the Eaton Centre for a feed of sushi in the food court. However, for some reason, I didn’t get down there. I don’t know why. I could have found the storage place for my luggage and quite easily got a bus into the city. I just didn’t. And, as timing worked out, I would probably have been in the same food court at the same time.

How far do I push this coincidence? It did occur to me when I went downtown this morning. Of course, my destination would have been probably appropriate. Meeting my end in a hardware store, in my case, would probably be quite “fitting.” Hopefully, I would have a roll of duct tape in my hands at the time.

I don’t think I’m going to worry about this more than anything else going on in the world at the time. I do have this belief that when my time comes, it will. I’m also reasonably stubborn enough that I don’t think worries of a wingnut shooting would really guide my life in any way, shape, or form.

I will, in one sense, let it affect me in one way. I’ll explain that by simply giving you the second last paragraph from Jessica Redfield’s last blog post…

I say all the time that every moment we have to live our life is a blessing. So often I have found myself taking it for granted. Every hug from a family member. Every laugh we share with friends. Even the times of solitude are all blessings. Every second of every day is a gift. After Saturday evening, I know I truly understand how blessed I am for each second I am given.

Leave a Reply

