Doug's Blog

Home » General » T’was the night before the night before Christmas

T’was the night before the night before Christmas

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 787 other followers

T’was the night before the night before Christmas and all through the house,
Not a creature was stirring, not even a moose.

Or something along those lines.

I popped into work today to get a few things done that had to be finished before the term starts and I go back to work for real in January. It was a relaxed day with lots of Merry Christmas-ing and hugging. Then, at lunch time, I had to take a run downtown and discovered a truly icy patch on the sidewalk. Down I went after a short period of hang time. I knew I was going so just went with it, which probably reduced the amount of owies I received. I’ve found that if you try to fight it and stiffen up, you only end up with more injuries.

I did have to check to make sure I did nothing to my incision. Fortunately, I have not developed any leaks. I’m still sore but am now quite glad the surgeon decided that my staples weren’t ready to come out. They probably held things together and I really don’t want new ones. My poor old knee didn’t enjoy it, either.

I did stick my head into the barbershop where I fell and suggested they put a little salt down. I could have been a bit more grumpy about it, since they saw me go flying and no one came out to see if I was more or less intact. Oh, well. My Christmas spirit seems to have come early. And now, with my aches, I think I’m going to open some Christmas spirit in liquid form and have a black, Demeraran pain killer with coke.

End result: I did not get to the post office to mail the Christmas cards. I’m beginning to think they’re jinxed…

3 Comments

  1. Niall Sheridan says:

    Save them in the Christmas decoration box Doug and send them next year!!

  2. There are 12 days of Christmas, Niall, and I think I’m going to have to exploit that.

  3. […] the chief suspect is the fall I had right before Christmas on an icy sidewalk (see a previous post). Also, infection can contribute and, of course, my incision got rather infected as well. Then, any […]

Leave a Reply

