Doug's Blog

Home » Theatre » Another playwriting competition ends

Another playwriting competition ends

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 787 other followers

You’ll notice that the playwriting festival ended at 11 am and I’m only posting this now. Needless to say, a certain degree of napping was required before I slaved over a hot wok to make supper. OK, I slaved over driving to the restaurant to pick up my order but you get the point.

I entered last year and had a great time. This is an excellent way to spend a whole day. You have the marvellous benefit of a deadline to force you to work. And, given the short time frame involved, your expectations don’t have to be incredibly high. No one is expecting a finished product after such a short period of time. And, you get a chance to bounce ideas off people who are also bouncing ideas off you, as well as a dramaturg on site to provide advice on how to get unstuck on this or how to fix that. And, at the end, there’s a breakfast provided.

I had quite high, read “unreasonable,” expectations on the amount of work I’d get in. I did get to the list of main points I wanted to deal with and need some more tweaking to get it finished. (I think my ability to see typos and bizzare grammar also degrades with lack of sleep. At 3 in the morning, for some reason, “3hdir” is a perfectly acceptable word.) As I mentioned, I’m at the point where I need to hear it read to move on. This will come in the near future.

I now get to wait to hear the results. I also get to present 5 minutes of the play at the cabaret they hold for the competition and this is when the winners are announced. Patience must rule until November 25th…

1 Comment

  1. Hi Doug, I did’t know you wrote. Very nice! I dabble myself – well, I keep starting the great Canadian novel…

Leave a Reply

