Doug's Blog

Home » General » OK. It is over.

OK. It is over.

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 745 other followers

I got a phone call last night from Bylaw. They inspected the property and found no evidence of hazardous wastes on the site across the street. So, with the property mostly cleaned, the hazardous wastes removed and the neighbour moved out, I guess all that’s left is to see what new tenants move in. After 2 years with a recycling company/junk dealer, followed by a crack house, followed by 2 1/2 years with another recycling company, I don’t have high hopes but am willing to be pleasantly surprised.

After all of this, I have two notes. I must admit that Bylaw went out of their way to help while YTG, to the level of the Premier, weren’t interested in doing anything at all. I have a sneaking suspicion that the neighbour being a friend of a senior Yukon Party official might be related as my late next door neighbour suggested. The second point is that the Maintenance and Zoning bylaws are a mess and need serious revision to make them enforceable. I think, after I feel a bit better, I’ll go back to council and see if they’re willing to consider this. In their shoes, I would. After all, if there are all of these legal impediments to enforcing these bylaws, there are probably as many in enforcing the Property Tax bylaw…

Leave a Reply

