Doug's Blog

Home » General » Don’t You Eat That Yellow…. Pollen

Don’t You Eat That Yellow…. Pollen

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 787 other followers

For those of you not familiar with the lodgepole pine tree, it is a beautiful tree. The name comes from its long, straight, thin trunks. Even in high winds, when you think they were so flimsy, they bend and flex and stand tall at the end of the storm. OK, I like pine trees. I also have quite a few in my yard and, given the wilderness surrounding the city, am completely enclosed in them.

But, most of us here have a complete week-long hatred of the pine tree. That’s because of their pollen, a fine, yellow dust that covers everything, inside and out. Those who are allergic to pollen find it even more hateful,  as they put out vast quantities of the dust and there is really no escaping it. I’ve had my computer out on the deck with me for 15 minutes and I will have to use compressed air to blow out the fans.

With my lack of mobility, I don’t have my usual method of dealing with this available… or at least until tomorrow. During the week pine trees pollenate, I usually have to hose off the decks and verandas, and everything on them, daily. The same holds true with the vehicles.

windshield pollen

 

Note how much is on the windshield of my truck. Then consider that it rained yesterday so much of it washed off. And, then you have to keep in mind the fact that there will be as much the next day, and the next day, and so on.

But, we must take the bad with the good. Pollen time is definitely the bad part, but when you think of the wildlife that lives in my pine trees, it’s not so bad. We have lots of birds, squirrels, boreal and great horned owls and, of course, Dean, the pine marten who does hang out in the back yard from time to time. It’s certainly a tradeoff I’m willing to make…

2 Comments

  1. kara says:

    I love that you have named your marten! My son has a stuffed marten, named Marno, that he takes everywhere with him.
    I hope you have a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

