Doug's Blog

Home » General » Potential Action Against the Neighbour: Revised

Potential Action Against the Neighbour: Revised

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 787 other followers

I beginning to think my birth certificate is wrong and that I may actually have been born in Missouri, where the motto is “Show me.” If I don’t see it, I’m not going to believe it. I think I may be beginning to believe we may see some motion on the neighbour across the street. I received the following e-mail this morning:

Doug –
I’m following up on your inquiry on behalf of Jon Bowen as he is out of town for the rest of the week. After speaking with the City of Whitehorse Planning department, I have confirmed that the zoning of 15 Maple Street does not support a commercial special waste collection business. As a result Environment Yukon will be examining what steps we can take to amend the special waste permit to reflect that a new storage location for these wastes must be found.
Again, thanks for bringing this matter to our attention.
Shannon Jensen
Manager, Standards & Approvals
Environmental Programs Branch

I’m not going to ask why it was issued in the first place or why the City wasn’t aware of this. I’m hoping now that at least we won’t have to worry about glowing in the dark or some other wonderful consequence. Now, if we could see some action from the city regarding him running his waste disposal business here, since the territorial government has confirmed this, it would be really nice…

Addendum:

As much as the guy applied for a hazardous waste permit for his business on the property, the manager of Bylaw Services for the city says that it’s impossible to prove he’s doing commercial activity on the lot. Sadly, this is apparently not enough for the city to take it to court.

Leave a Reply

